Regional Writing Opportunities

Grants, Awards, Contests, and Scholarships

A list of writing opportunities from around the Adirondack Park. For people just starting to dabble in writing to professional authors, these opportunities are for everyone. 

Old Forge Library seeks Poetry and Illustrations (Feb 1 - Mar 1, 2016)
The Old Forge Library is pleased to announce the theme of this year’s Poetry andIllustration Exhibit: “Boundaries”. The juried Exhibit is open to students in K-12 and Adults throughout the Mid-York library region (Herkimer, Oneida and Madison Counties) and the Town of Inlet. Entries will be accepted from February 1 to March 1. There are four categories: Grades K-4, Grades 5-8, Grades 9-12, and Adult. Please call the library for specific details. Guidelines can also  be found on the libraries website: www.oldforgelibrary.org.

The contestant’s entries will be hung by the Beta Sigma Phi Sorority. The Opening Exhibit Reception, which is open to the public, will be held on March 15 at 7 p.m.  Emcee Mike Cunningham will announce the Winners and Honorable Mentions. Winners will receive $25.00 and a certificate and Honorable Mentions will receive a certificate.  Participants whose poems and illustrations win or receive Honorable Mention in their categories will have an opportunity to read and/or discuss their work.  All entries will remain on display in the library wing through May 25 during library hours. 

Adirondack Literary Awards
In 2006, the Adirondack Center for Writing established the Adirondack Literary Awards, a juried awards program that honors books in a variety of genres published in or about the Adirondacks during the previous year. Now one of the most popular annual events of ACW, the annual deadline usually falls in March. Details are posted on this site in a timely manner.

Arts Initiative Grant 
This grant is awarded to individual artist at any stage in his or her career. Must reside in either Washington or Warren County and produce work with a community theme. Amount: $2,500.00 Contact: The Lower Adirondack Regional Art Council at (518) 798-1144. 

Blueline Call for Submissions
Blueline, A Literary Magazine Dedicated to the Spirit of the Adirondacks, seeks poems and stories relating to the Adirondacks and regions similar in geography and spirit, focusing on the shaping influence of nature. We also seek essays that interpret the literature and/or contemporary culture of the Adirondack region or surrounding areas, including New York State, New England, or eastern Canada. The editors especially welcome ecocritical essays or non-fictional short memoirs based in the region’s literature. Submission period is September through November. Decisions in mid-February. Payment in copies. Submissions must not have been previously published. Simultaneous submissions are considered as long as they announced as such. Send manuscripts to The Editor, Blueline, 125 Morey Hall, Department of English and Communication, SUNY Potsdam, Potsdam, NY 13676. Blueline welcomes electronic submissions, either in the body of an e-mail message or in Word or html formatted files. Mail to: blueline@potsdam.edu. 

The Charles B. Decker Memorial Fund announces a scholarship to applicants in the Adirondack region who are committed to the study of journalism. Scholarships are awarded to graduating high school students, college students studying journalism, and to professional journalists from Northern New York interested in continuing education or appropriate projects. Grants presently range from $1,000 to $3,000. For a copy of the application form, please contact the Adirondack Community Trust, a community foundation for the Adirondack region, at 518 523-9905 or Janet P. Decker, 24 Coreys Rd., Tupper Lake, NY 12986. The deadline is April 15th of each year.

Special Opportunity Stipend (SOS) Grants The Special Opportunity Stipends (S.O.S.) Grant program is designed to help artists of all disciplines to take advantage of unique opportunities that will significantly benefit their work or career development. Grants ranging from $100 to $600 are awarded three times a year; deadlines for applications are in September, February and May. Artists may apply for funding each round even if they have received funding in a prior round, there is no waiting period. Contact Shelle Sucharski at: The Arts Council for the Northern Adirondacks, 23 North Main Street, PO Box 187, Westport, NY 12993 518-962-8778 or e-mail: artsgrants@westelcom.com.


*NOTE: Many of these awards require reading fees so, it is crucial that you thoroughly research these contests and organizations to see if there is a good chance that they would be interested in your style of writing before sending in your submission. Also, although some of the contest deadlines listed here may have expired or are fast approaching, we decided to include them because often a careful submission can take up to a year to prepare.

E literature offers two awards, one for poetry and the other for fiction. The winner in each category will receive $10,000. Submissions must exhibit innovative use of electronic techniques and enhancements. Literary quality, understood as being related to print and electronic traditions of fiction and poetry, respectively; quality and accessibility of interface design. Collections will be accepted if they are intended to be read holistically as a single work. ELO Prizes will be awarded for fiction, poetry, drama, and creative nonfiction electronic literature projects. See http://www.eliterature.org/abo/about-x06-Prizes.shtml

New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowships Artists' Fellowships are $7,000 cash awards made to individual originating artists living and working in the state of New York for use in career development. DEADLINE- Application deadlines are in early October. The exact deadline changes each year; please refer to the current application or contact program staff for the current deadline. See www.nyfa.org or write New York Foundation for the Arts, 155 Avenue of the Americas, 14Fl, New York, NY 10013-1507. (212) 366-6900. These fellowships are very competitive.

Writers at Work offers an annual Fellowship Competition for emerging writers in the fiction, nonfiction, and poetry genres. Winners are honored with cash prizes, publication opportunities, etc, and in many instances, the attention of agents and publishers attending the annual conference in search of new talent. The Fellowship Competition is open to unpublished work only. Send your fellowship competition entry to: Writers at Work Fellowship Competition, c/o (specify manuscript genre), P.O. Box 540370, NSL, UT 84054-0370 See http://www.writersatwork.org/



      - NYFA Grants & more 
      - NEA Grants
      - NYSCA Grants 
      - Poetry Contests